Author Topic: What ecu to use to pass emissions  (Read 1593 times)

Offline Manny5569

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Gender: Male
  • Manny5569EK
What ecu to use to pass emissions
« on: September 19, 2013, 05:45:25 PM »
Alright so I got a civic that has a mini swap in it and it has the p06 ecu chipped on.chrome and.it won't pass they hook it up and it comes up as error on the computer. Any idea on what to do or use for it to pass

Offline ZenkaiRacer

  • Forum Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2013, 05:59:55 PM »
The P06 is an OBD1 ecu. The testing place is trying to connect to an OBD2 ecu that your car is supposed to have.

Any 96-2000 OBD2 sohc ecu that doesn't throw any codes will work. I don't know if any of them will not throw codes though since OBD2 ecu's look for things that aren't in place on OBD1 cars, such as 2 o2 sensors, emissions stuff, and sometimes a knock sensor.

Offline Manny5569

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Gender: Male
  • Manny5569EK
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2013, 11:25:59 AM »
So a p28 Will work


Offline CerealWars

  • Forum VIP
  • *****
  • Posts: 3132
  • Gender: Male
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2013, 11:41:32 AM »
What year is your car?
The Bible was written by the same people who thought the Earth was flat.

Offline Manny5569

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Gender: Male
  • Manny5569EK
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2013, 11:44:50 AM »
1996


Offline CerealWars

  • Forum VIP
  • *****
  • Posts: 3132
  • Gender: Male
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2013, 11:50:57 AM »
Your car is OBD2. You have to run a OBD2 ECU to pass emissions. You will still probably fail with the motor setup that is in your car. Good luck.
The Bible was written by the same people who thought the Earth was flat.

Offline Manny5569

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Gender: Male
  • Manny5569EK
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2013, 11:55:28 AM »
So even with a obd2 ecu it still might not pass

Offline Manny5569

  • Forum Regular
  • ***
  • Posts: 168
  • Gender: Male
  • Manny5569EK
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2013, 12:04:19 PM »
It's also a d15b8 bottom and a y8 head

Offline ricehonda

  • Forum OG
  • ****
  • Posts: 444
  • Gender: Male
  • MMT
    • Email
Re: What ecu to use to pass emissions
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2013, 12:22:21 PM »
Ive never gotten my mini me to pass even with a full tune up new stock cat and the engine had about A thousand miles on it. I finally gave up and now i register it in wyoming where my brother lives
usdm as fuck