Author Topic: down pipe and other stuff  (Read 1943 times)

Offline pants

• Trial
down pipe and other stuff
« on: October 25, 2013, 11:16:34 AM »
Ok, little into about me and my situation. Im a noob to tuner cars so have patience with me if I use wrong terminology, ask dumb questions, or whatever. Im tech savvy, have worked at various shops and dealerships as a boat mechanic and a motorcycle mechanic,  haven't dabbled in car tuning much. I have a 98 accord 2.3L coupe, and Im trying to turbo it just a little bit. I want to avoid emissions annoyances, and I also want to keep my gas mileage up, and keep my a/c. I have already purchased everything except a down pipe, and fuel management stuff.
Where can I get a down pipe built? I would like a few different options to pick from. Next, can anyone teach me how to safely put this together to achieve the most gain without needing to replace my ecu? Ive been told that if I keep the boost low, like around 7 or less that I can just add a fuel regulator and FMU, and not need to replace the ecu. I dont have a clue. The guy I bought a bunch of my stuff from said he did the same thing to his accord and it safely gave him a little bit more power. Unfortunately I lost his number and he's from out of state anyway. You geniuses out here have some ideas of what to do next Im sure.

Offline unified11

• Can't Blend Paint
  • Forum VIP
  • Blend Mixer 2000...It's like a painter, but faster
Re: down pipe and other stuff
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 02:56:04 PM »
"and I'm trying to turbo it a little bit"

lol.. Not to be a prick but, no matter how 'little' boost you're wanting to run.. Turbo is turbo.   Do it RIGHT the first time or else all you're doing is wasting time, money and the longevity of your motor.

As far as keeping AC, that is almost completely dependent on what turbo manifold you're using and how you route all your intercooler and turbo piping. 

What manifold do you currently have?

What turbo do you have?